Review: Children of Blood and Bone

Review Children of Blood and Bone

I was looking at Jennifer Lynn Barnes‘s syllabus from one of her Young Adult Literature courses at the University of Oklahoma when I saw Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi.

I’m not really a fan of fantasy novels, but I was intrigued by its inclusion in her class and the subject matter so I decided to give it a try.

From the publisher:

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.

They took our magic.

They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

I didn’t expect to love Children of Blood and Bone, but it was really incredible. I was looking forward to reading a fantasy story with a different background, but I got so much more from this book.

The world-building was amazing, and the parallels were obvious between the treatment of the Majis in the book and the marginalization and oppression of any of a number of groups today.

I also love how each of the POV characters had a very clear arc, and how the separate arcs were often, but not always parallel to each other, intersecting from time-to-time.

Even if you’re not into fantasy, if you enjoy well-plotted books with great characters and tension throughout, I highly recommend Children of Blood and Bone.

2 Replies to “Review: Children of Blood and Bone”

  1. […] me to pick up The Hazel Wood, Melissa Albert‘s debut novel. As I mentioned in my review of Children of Blood and Bone, I’m not really a fantasy fan, but I greatly enjoyed The Hazel […]

  2. […] of Virtue and Vengeance is Tomi Adeyemi‘s follow-up to her breakout debut Children of Blood and Bone. It’s a captivating return to Orïsha, with Zélie, Amari and many of the other […]

Leave a Comment